Chocolate Chewy Cookies (Whole Foods Copy Cat)

Have you ever had the Whole Foods flourless, chewy chocolate cookies? They’re GOOD. My coworker brought them to a work potluck a while back. I decided eventually I was going to have to bake them, even though my last gluten-free baking experiment was a disaster. These are more like meringues, and I love to eat meringues, so I thought they’d be more up my alley.

Chocolate Chewy Cookies

(I got this recipe from How Sweet Eats, who adapted it from bakespace)

12 oz powdered sugar

2 oz organic cocoa

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 egg whites

1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350.

Stir dry ingredients together in a stand mixer. Turn mixer on low and add egg whites one at a time – the batter will be very dry until the last egg white. Add vanilla and turn mixer on high for 2 minutes. This may take longer depending on your mixer, but you want a thicker batter with soft peaks.

Spoon batter onto a cook sheet. Bake for 15 minutes and let cool before removing.

NOTES: I've seen other versions of this recipe that recommend baking on parchment paper, and some that say be careful not to over-mix. Use your baking intuition and decide for yourself (kind of like "Use the Force, Luke!").

I also think less powdered sugar would be a good call. Or maybe using dark chocolate cocoa powder? They were a little too sweet.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chewy Cookies (Whole Foods Copy Cat)

  1. I’ve been fussing around with creating a chocolate gluten free cookies for the last month. Your version looks so easy! And tasty.

Leave a Reply

