A New Semester

Well, now I’ve had my first one of all my classes for this semester.  Here are my first impressions.

Creative Writing:  Sounds challenging, but hopefully fun.  I think it will improve my writing, however, its going to be tough to sit there for four hours straight.  Its all about the snack breaks, ha.

Advertising:  A little intimidated, but I think I can handle it.  My friend Erin is in that class with me, so that will be fun.

Native American World:  I’m a little worried about staying awake…my professor has that mild-mannered academic aura, kinda mellow voice.  But the material should dovetail nicely with my senior perspective course.

Tap/Jazz:  Well, so far I’ve only had tap (we do tap on Thursdays and Jazz on Tuesdays).  The teacher’s style of tap is very different from my old studio, so I need to accustom myself to that.  I’m really looking forward to jazz.

Digital Video:  This class should be super fun.  Downside, I have to go spend more money to buy a memory card and a card reader.  Sigh.  And at the end of the semester, I will take the Apple certification exam for Final Cut Pro, and (hopefully) pass!  Whoot.

Stories that Shape Lives (senior perspective):  This one is all about the power of myth and stories, but seen exclusively from the Native American perspective.  I didn’t know that it was going to be from the Native perspective when I signed up for it, so its an interesting coincidence that I’m taking Native American history at the same time.  But hopefully that will help.  There’s a lot of reading for this course and a plethora of textbooks to buy (ugh).

Well, there’s my 16 credits for the semester.  I’ll also be working on yearbook and continuing by awesome job of “Creighton University operator, how may I direct your call?”

I guess I’ll mention some New Year’s resolutions, since this post is all about new beginnings.  I want to be more organized, more healthy, and learn to be a better cook.

Leave a Reply

