What you make of it

There is a new commercial running on Hulu right now for Google Offers (beta), which from the spot, seems to be the same thing as Groupon and Living Social. So who really cares, right?

But what I can’t get out of my head from this spot is the opening line.

“A city is what you make of it.”

It hits me every time I hear it. Because I know I complain about Omaha more than I should. There really is a lot to do in Omaha, you just have to put a little effort into finding it. And I had grand plans to do so this summer, which I have not followed through on. Why? Life happened, I guess. I got a cat, I had mono, work is tiring, I was traveling, I’m broke…the excuses are endless. But that’s not really fair to Omaha. It’s not Omaha’s fault I’m bored. It’s my own for not doing anything about it.

I have followed through on a few of my summer resolutions. I joined a dance studio and I’m taking ballet again. I also started taking zumba classes, which are kicking my ass but so so fun. I’ve been making tons of cookies and cheesecake with my mixer. I got my hair cut, I went and got a Nebraska driver’s license AND registered to vote.

I’m trying to remember that this is a good place, it’s just going to take time before I know all it’s secrets and cool things the way I do about Cleveland.

Oh, and props to the writer of that spot. What a line – it captures your imagination and makes you think of all the possibilities. The music is perfect with it, too. Upbeat – it carries with it the thrill of excitement. It makes you want to go out and create your own city experience.

Leave a Reply

