Bathroom Wall Art DIY

My bathroom is…fine. I mean, it’s pretty large for a 1 bedroom apartment bathroom. But it’s boring and tan. My shower curtain and rugs are all solid turquoise. It’s been screaming out for an accent color or something to break up all the tan and turquoise. A few weekends ago I purchased some classy white towels with a turquoise accent, which made a huge difference.

Next up was some art. I had already hung up a frame with two photos from my trip to Ireland (my European happy place!) so I kind of wanted something to go with that.

I saw a print on Etsy that had the phrase “Never stop exploring” and it immediately struck a cord with me, but I didn’t like the design of the print. It just wasn’t my style or color palate. Inspired by this diy song lyric art over at A Beautiful Mess, I  decided to make my own “Never stop exploring” art.

Step 1: Decoupage with diy Mod Podge (half Elmer’s glue, half water – so easy!). I cut out a TON (too many) of squares of color from magazines – mostly turquoise but with little pops of orange and fuchsia. I also cut my finger when I got a little too scissor happy, so watch out! I spread a thin layer of glue mixture on the canvas, placed my squares, then spread another layer on top. I did this in sections until the canvas was suitably covered. Let dry completely.

Step 2: Lay out your phrase. I bought a pack of alphabet stickers at Hobby Lobby, cut out the letters I needed and arranged to my satisfaction before actually sticking the letters on.

Step 3. Paint over the entire thing the color of your choice. I selected white so the collaged bits would really pop. What I wasn’t expecting to happen was the little cracks in paint coverage because of the texture of the collage. The picture below is after only 1 coat of paint, but you’ll see I decided to embrace the cracks in the end. From far away they remind me of road lines in a map, so I think it works with the phrase.

Step 4. Peel them stickers off! After the paint is dry, that is. I used an exacto knife to help me peel them off.

Step 5. Admire the pretty thing you made! Go ahead, text pictures of it to all your friends, your mom, your dog, whatever!

Since this will be hanging in my bathroom, I plan to spray it with a water resistant gloss sealer. Hopefully that will help it last longer.

I love it – hope you guys love it too and maybe it inspires you to make something pretty!

7 thoughts on “Bathroom Wall Art DIY

  1. I wonder if more mod podge or more paint would help with the crackles? Not that I don’t like the crackles, I LOVE the crackles. But, just throwing it out there. 🙂

    • I thought about doing another layer of paint. But…I got lazy and decided I liked the crackles. lol. More mod podge, though…I could see that helping! Really get a nice smooth layer of that…

  2. Pingback: DIY Wall art quote | C'est la vie

  3. Pingback: Nature Never Did Betray « wandering

Leave a Reply

