Chicken Yum Yum

This is not a baking post. It is…gasp…a cooking post!

Sort of.

I had strep over the weekend and my coworker friend suggested this to me as a comfort food that wasn’t soup. (I had commented that I was sick of soup.)

Chicken Yum Yum.

She told me I had to call it that. And after tasting it, the name is pretty apt.

1 can (10 3/4 oz) Cream of Chicken Soup
1 can (8 oz, but sometimes I use more) whole kernel corn, drained
2 cups cubed cooked chicken (or 2 cans of chicken – easier that way)
1 package (8 1/2 oz) corn muffin mix
3/4 cup milk
1 egg
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1) Preheat oven to 400 F. In a 9-inch pie plate mix soup (I use a square pan, works just fine), corn, and chicken.
2) Mix muffin mix, milk, and egg. Pour over chicken mixture. Bake for 30 minutes or until golden. Sprinkle with cheese.

Variation- Cornbread Chicken Chili Pot Pie: In Step 1 add 1 can (about 4 oz) of chopped green chilies, drained, with the corn.

I did one thing differently…instead of using boxed cornbread mix (cue disdainful sneer), I made my own cornbread batter. In that instance, skip the milk and egg that is in this recipe and just make your cornbread batter as usual.

Yum!

Leave a Reply

