Pinterest Recipe Fail – Slow Cooker Apple Oatmeal

I recently bought a slow cooker and am now obsessed with finding good slow cooker recipes. I saw this on Pinterest and thought it would be yummy. Like apple crisp, but oatmeal style. Here’s the picture that lured me in:Image

This is the recipe that was in the pin caption. The pin of course didn’t link to the original recipe post, just a random tumbler home page, so I have no reference link for you (I hate you pinners that do that!).

Throw 2 sliced apples, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon in the bottom of the crock pot. Pour 2 cups of oatmeal and 4 cups of water on top. Do NOT stir. Cook overnight for 8 – 9 hours on low. Yummy breakfast!

LIES! LIES! I’m talking to you, word “yummy breakfast!”

First off, please note that the recipe doesn’t ask you to peel the apples. If you make this recipe, I beseech you, peel the poor apples! Who wants apple skins in their oatmeal? Also, I felt like it was a little bland, needed more spices maybe?

I don’t really know where I went wrong, but I was so excited about this breakfast, and it did not live up to my expectations. Let me know if you try it and it’s better. Maybe I need to try it with a different kind of apple?

3 thoughts on “Pinterest Recipe Fail – Slow Cooker Apple Oatmeal

  1. Mine turned out amazing this morning. You must have done something wrong. Mine looks just like it does in the picture. I put a little extra cinnamon in and a dash of nutmeg and ground cloves. I put it in my crockpot on WARM at 11 pm and we just ate at 8 am the next morning. I sliced the apples and removed the peel, I think that is very important and then chunked up the apples to bite size pieces. I think the #1 key to success is to spray the inside of crockpot with nonstick spray heavily before adding ingredients. Mine didnt stick whatsoever. And I served it with just a dollop of vanilla yogurt on each serving. VERY VERY good!

Leave a Reply

