Singing the Storage Blues

I moved into my new apartment this past Saturday. Technically, my stuff moved in last Wednesday, but I didn’t start living here until Saturday. The first several days were full of that terrible thing…unpacking.

The biggest challenge was going from having

  • a walk-in closet in my bedroom
  • two hall linen closets
  • a storage closet on the patio
  • a huge pantry in the kitchen

to having…

  • a tiny closet in the bedroom
  • one closet in the living room
  • one hall closet
  • a…tiny space by the fridge that I think is maybe a broom closet? That’s about all that could possibly fit in there anyway
  • a sketchy storage “locker” in the basement that doesn’t close all the way and maybe has water damage

Before you all become convinced that my apartment is terrible, I should note that it has an AMAZING kitchen and there are several perks that made me choose it.

Here are the good things about the closets in the new place. The one in the living room is quite deep, which sort of makes up for the bedroom closet being so tiny. It is now housing all my coats, shoes, out of season clothes likes sweats, hoodies, and sweaters, and purses, as well as other miscellaneous stuff like my suitcase, air mattress, seasonal wreathes, spare comforter for guests, etc.

The hall closet is next to the bathroom, so it has become a linen closet for towels, my laundry supplies, miscellaneous bath and body stuff, as well as some other things that just need to be stored (cat carrier, cooler, KitchenAid mixer box).

I can’t really think of anything good to say about the bedroom closet…it’s there? Some of my clothes fit in it? My cat accidentally got trapped in it this morning. That wasn’t good at all.

There was an exciting moment yesterday when I managed to fit my vacuum in the broom closet by tilting the vacuum and angling it in. Stay tuned to see if I can ever get the vacuum back out! (I’m sure that comment will really drive readers to hit “Follow this blog” haha.)

The storage locker…well, I put a few non-essential, somewhat weatherproof things in there. My dad is convinced I’m going to hit up the hardware store and get some 2x4s to build a shelf to elevate things off the ground (see above note about water damage). This is probably not going to happen.

I’m definitely a pack-rat with a fondness with clothes and shoes (and apparently just stuff in general!), so it’s been tricky making everything fit. But, I also love organizing, so finding the best way to store and arrange everything has been a fun challenge for me. And now that I’ve gotten most everything put away, I can move on to the really fun stuff: hanging art and decorating!

This has been a terribly long and boring blog post, but I’m trying to get back into blogging by simply writing something every day, and this was all I could think to talk about. Closets. Dear God, I need a life.

 

Leave a Reply

