DIY Kitchen Wall Art – Painted Spoons

spoons on canvas

I saw this spoon art on Pinterest and decided it would be super fun to do for my kitchen, using paint colors from my color scheme, of course. I already had acrylic paint in the right colors, left over from this wall art project, so I just needed a canvas and a million spoons.

I went to Goodwill first. I was thinking about doing just 3 large serving spoons centered on the canvas, instead of tons of small spoons. But I couldn’t find any cool old spoons at Goodwill, so I ended up getting a couple boxes of tiny appetizer spoons from the Grocery store. They’re actually plastic, but very metal looking. Plastic was a good idea in the end; I think metal spoons would have been too heavy to hang on the wall.

First I set all the spoons on the canvas to determine exactly how many I needed. 56. Ugh.

unpainted spoons

Then I poured paint on the tip of each spoon and rolled it around to look like they’d been dipped in paint (the spoons were just ever so slightly too large to fit into the bottles of acrylic paint, of course). I left them on paper to dry overnight.

painted spoons drying

Then I hot glued each individual spoon to the canvas. This took forever, but it was worth it in the end.

closeup on spoons

finished spoon art

The final product looks really good up on my kitchen gallery wall. No pictures of that because it’s not quite finished…

2 thoughts on “DIY Kitchen Wall Art – Painted Spoons

Leave a comment